Fixing Broken Windows

Shawn Lovejoy our lead pastor lead us in a “belong and become” time where we talked about fixing broken windows.

Referencing the words of Nehemiah and Malcolm Gladwell’s book the “Tipping Point” he encouraged us to consider the “Broken Window Thesis”. The essence of the theory is “One unrepaired broken window is a signal that no one cares.” Nehemiah had a few broken windows to say the least…so what did he do? He went to work. Check it out for yourself.

17 Then I said to them, “You see the trouble we are in: Jerusalem lies in ruins, and its gates have been burned with fire. Come, let us rebuild the wall of Jerusalem, and we will no longer be in disgrace.” 18 I also told them about the gracious hand of my God upon me and what the king had said to me.
They replied, “Let us start rebuilding.” So they began this good work. (Nehemiah 2, NIV)

So yesterday we talked about broken windows…simple things we could do. I loved it. One of my take aways..it is so easy to get stuck in the rut and pretty soon the windows are broken and you don’t even notice it. This happens in your own life, ministry, work, relationships, finances, etc.

Here’s the challenge what are some simple things we (I) can do today, this week? Month? Quarter? Year?

From a ministry perspective I’m going to work on our work environment. We are over crowded and its become an excuse to let it go. After yesterday I realize that my professionalism or lack of it reflects our stewardship of what God has entrusted us with. One broken window can lead to all kinds of disarray…lack of missed opportunities, frustration, overspending, disorganization, unmet needs, etc.

There are many other little broken windows that I will need to give my attention to, but that’s a start and example for others…what are your broken windows.

Leave a Reply

