Loving Like Jesus Loves

Loving like Jesus loves is a crazy notion…as Francis Chan states it in the title of his new book it is Crazy Love. I must admit I haven’t read it yet, but the idea I gather is in keeping with what I write about in Breaking the Discipleship Code…which is following Jesus is about living like Jesus, loving like Jesus and leaving what Jesus left behind (people who live and love like Jesus). Loving like Jesus is crazy, out-of-the-box, extreme, impractical, over-the-top, radical, etc. If you don’t believe it read the Gospels. Jesus love people like Peter, Matthew, Mary…he love people like the women caught in a sex act with a man who wasn’t her husband, a woman who had five husbands and was living with another man, a thief cursing him from a cross, a Roman who nail him to the cross…you get the picture…CRAZY.

At the same time we as followers of Jesus are often challenged at this core issue. We struggle with loving people who are different then us…if we are really honest we even struggle with people who are like us.

Today I got a phone call from someone I had written off. I wasn’t trash talking about the guy. I didn’t even think a lot about where we got side ways. I just simply moved on. I’m forward looking so I have a tendency to move on. He didn’t have to call me, but he did. We talked, clarified, took responsibility, apologized, confessed, shared blame and ultimately restore our relationship.

While I won’t go into the details or even tell you who, I am so thankful to God for CRAZY LOVE. That’s right the kind of love that just won’t let it go even when a lot of time has passed and really nothing seems to be at stake. Following our conversation I experience a new respect, appreciation, and I believe relationship with this guy. I don’t know if he will read this blog…it doesn’t matter…I just want to say thanks! Most importantly we both did what Jesus would have done.

At the end of our day our relationships are a big deal. When the chips are down they are all we have. Thank God for forgiveness.

Leave a Reply

