I Traveled Back to Afghanistan Today!

Yesterday was a big day. I celebrated my dad’s 30 anniversary as pastor of Eastside Baptist Church. I got to see my son. He gave me a coffee cup that had on it “82nd Airborne, DAD”. He knows I love coffee. I was so proud being among two brave and accomplished men.
That was yesterday today I made a trip back to Afghanistan today. I received and e-mail from Susan Bagley a good friend who is part of my small group asking us to pray for the family of Cpl. Matthew Phillips. Please take a moment and pray for his family and all of our soldiers. This brave soldier was married to a young lady who graduated with Susan’s daughter just one year ahead of my son. He gave his life in the ambush that took 9 American soldiers lives. Our region morns the lost of one of ours and we salute his bravery and commitment to sacrifice for our freedom.
List below is a cut and paste from the Department of Defense Press Release session dated July 17, 2008.
The Department of Defense announced today the death of nine soldiers who were supporting Operation Enduring Freedom. They died of wounds suffered when their outpost was attacked by small arms fire and rocket propelled grenades from enemy forces in Wanat, Afghanistan, on July 13. They were assigned to the 2nd Battalion, 503d Infantry Regiment (Airborne), 173rd Airborne Brigade Combat Team, Vicenza, Italy.
Killed were:
1st Lt. Jonathan P. Brostrom, 24, of Hawaii.
Sgt. Israel Garcia, 24, of Long Beach, Calif.
Cpl. Jonathan R. Ayers, 24, of Snellville, Ga.
Cpl. Jason M. Bogar, 25, of Seattle, Wash.
Cpl. Jason D. Hovater, 24, of Clinton, Tenn.
Cpl. Matthew B. Phillips, 27, of Jasper, Ga.
Cpl. Pruitt A. Rainey, 22, of Haw River, N.C.
Cpl. Gunnar W. Zwilling, 20, of Florissant, Mo.
Pfc. Sergio S. Abad, 21, of Morganfield, Ky.
One response to “I Traveled Back to Afghanistan Today!

  1. Pingback: Afghanistan » bracelets handmade in afghanistan

Leave a Reply

