Life: What’s in a day!

The words of my mom will forever ring in my heart. “I can live or I can I die, I choose life.” Mom has been sick with a blood disorder for over 20 years now. She was suppose to die 10 years ago, but now she is in a clinical trial at the famous cancer research hospital in Houston, MD Anderson. We really believe they are going to announced a cure for her disease in her life time. I think I will nominate her for a Nobel Peace Prize. She is that kind of women.

“I choose life!” There’s another quote I got up thinking about today that I first heard from another incredible women, my wife Tami. Maybe you have heard it, it wasn’t original with her but it’s just good advise. It goes like this:

Live like you don’t need any money

Love like you’ve never been hurt

Dance like no ones watching

Yesterday I was reminded in many ways about the precious gift of life as I stood on the side of the street waiting on a motor procession for a fallen soldier in our community. My prayers continue to be for the family of Cpl. Matthew Phillips who gave his life for our country and my freedom in Afghanistan.

I really don’t know how to respond. I literally searching for words. It wasn’t too long ago that my son was in Afghanistan not far from where Matthew gave his life. I asked my wife how she felt as the procession passed. What I was really wanting to know was what emotional pain did this unearth in her life. Her response was, “All I could do was think of his family.” God bless Cpl. Phillips Family. God bless America. God bless the soldiers at home preparing for deployment and those who are in Iraq and Afghanistan.

Father, I pray that their might be peace on earth and good will toward all men. Amen

Back to my point…yesterday I got to do so many things that I enjoy and care about. Here are a few:

  • Pay tribute to the brave.
  • Had lunch with Shawn Lovejoy, John Shepherd, and Jim Law.
  • Road three different motorcycles: A Harley Night Train, Harley Springer, and Honda VTX.
  • I ate ice cream at the foot of the mountain with my friend Dan at Riders Hill.
  • I had supper at Shawn’s house with our entire team.
  • I sat in the his backyard and watch his three young kids play.
  • I talked with my son about starting a business with him. We are going to flip a few Harley’s.
  • I stop by Casey and Kacie’s house on the way home and watch “So, You Think You Can Dance” with my wife and daughter.
  • I filled up my gas tank on my bike. It cost me $17.00. That should get me a week.
  • I feel asleep in my chair watching the news.

My point is live life to the fullest for you never know what’s in a day. Pay attention to the details. Expect God to give you plenty of opportunities to live like him, love like him, and leave what he left behind. Be especially sensitive to those around you. You never know what they are going through. Take time to thank God for his forgiveness in your life. Thank a soldier or a soldiers family for your freedom. Enjoy the simple moments with a friend. God out of the way to touch one more person. Let the the person in a hurry go first. Smile at a stranger. Hug your children both young and old and hold them a little longer. Call your parents and just say hi. Call and old friend. Call and encourage someone who is struggling. Go on a long walk or even a short walk. Slow down and take notice of the people around you.

What’s in a day? More then you think.

Leave a Reply

