My Mom the Lab Rat

That’s right my mom is a lab rat, she really is! Her and my dad spent the night with me last night on their way to MD Anderson where she is a patient in a clinical trial for a malignant blood disorder called, Polycythemia. In the clinical trial they are studying the toxicity of the drug they are treating her with.

The amazing thing is all indications is they have found a cure for the disease that would have killed her a few years ago. Matter of fact just prior to the clinical trial her disease was headed to the spent part of the process where here bone morrow was no longer able to produce the blood cells necessary for her to live.

In Breaking the Discipleship Code I spend a chapter talking about What A Missional Follower of Jesus Looks Like in Suffering. Guest where I gain most of my insight. That’s right my mom the lab rat.

Leave a Reply

