A Proud Moment for All of Us!

Amand and Her Soldier

Amanda and Her Soldier

Yesterday was an incredible day in many ways. I jumped on my motorcycle at 5:00 pm, drove to Columbia, SC, spent the night and was back on my bike by 6:00 am headed to Parris Island, SC, where I attended the latest Marine Corp graduation. Over 500 brave young men and women graduated after three of the most challenging months of their lives.

I was especially honored to be there supporting my daughter, Amanda, and her boyfriend, Private Orry Howe.

It was an amazing moment for all of us and I am so proud of this young man. He is indeed among the few, the proud, the Marines.

On a side note, I knew this young man when he was just a little boy. He was our next door neighbor when I was planting a church in Charleston, SC, back in the early 90’s and I had the wonderful honor of being a friend and pastor of his family where I also had the privilege of baptizing both of his parents.

Once again I am reminded of how much our world has changed. It seems that all the young men around us are going off to war: my son and now my daughter’s boyfriend. For as long as their are wars let’s not forget to pray for “peace on earth and good to all men”.

Orry's Mom, Step Dad, and Sisters

Orry's Mom, Step Dad, and Sisters

A Proud Dad

A Proud Dad

Leave a Reply

