Simply Jesus

Well it’s official.  Sort of.  I just finished the rough draft of Simply Jesus: Detox for the overly religious.  I pressed the send button and sent the manuscript off to a person in an undisclosed location that would rather make me look good then write her own books.  After she knocks off the rough edges and does a little polishing it will be off to the publisher where they will work their magic.  Truth of the matter the work has just begun.  For those of you who are not fimiliar with the process from the conception time to the actual release of a book you are talking about 18 months.  The entire process is brutal and is frankly why a lot of people choose not to write. 

If you are excited about the potential of this conversation on detox for the overly religious don’t be, at least not yet.  We (being my publisher and I) decide to postpone the release of the book to January 1, 2010.  This means it will be available in bookstores and online in December.  In case you were already wondering what you would do next Christmas to simplify, there you go.  You can buy a case or two of my book and give out as Christmas gifts.  

What’s next?  

  • I’m going to take a break from writing for a few weeks.  For me this means I get my Friday’s and Saturday’s back since I do the majority of my writing then.  
  • I’m going to complete a proposal on the Best Practices of  Church Planters.  Shawn Lovejoy and I are going to co-author this one together.  I love co-authoring…half the work!!!  
  • I think I will blog more often and I might even write a few articles.  
  • I’m going to speak a little.  There’s about a half of dozen or so events I’m going to speak at throughout the year on discipleship. 
  • I’m going to work on http://www.churchplanters.com.  We have our first ever West Coast Conference coming up on November 2, 2009 at North Coast Church and we have tons to do.  We are also gearing up for our February 22 – 23, 2010 conference.  We will be doubling our conference size to about 1000 registrants.  I have some really cool thoughts about what this is going to look like.  
  • I’m going to gear up for moving into our new auditorium at Mountain Lake Church in August.  It is going to be amazing.  For the first time in about three years we will have room to grow without going to 33 different services.  We can already see God’s hand at work in this as we sense the anticipation in our church family and ministry team. 
  • I am going spend as much time as possible with my family.  My son will be deployed to Iraq latter in the years.  
  • I have a few really close friends that I’m going to do some really good life with. 
  • I am going to work on being a healthier me.  I have about twenty pounds I picked up during the writing crunch and I just heard my daughter say she is getting buffer…I think I will get buffer. 
One response to “Simply Jesus

  1. Congratulations on getting your manuscript out. B&H are good folk.

Leave a Reply

