Living in His Presence!

Jesus invites us to come follow him.  Following him requires living in his presence.  Living in his presence is an amazing thing.  Living in his presence begins with realizing that he is right here, not way out there.  Jesus holding man

Philip came to understand this when he asked the following question of Jesus, “Lord, show us the Father and that will be enough for us.” (John 14:8)Notice Jesus’ responds, “Don’t you know me, Philip, even after I have been among you such a long time?  Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father.  How can you say, ‘Show us the father’”? (John 14:9)  

Jesus was reminding Philip that the Father had been with him all along  because he and the Father are one and the same.  The same is true today!  Jesus and the Father are one and Jesus has been with us all along.  We can and should live in his presence 24/7.  He wants us to follow him.  

Following him involves awareness!  When we become aware of his presence in the ordinary things we begin to experience him and the life he offers.  For me this week I have experiences his presence in so many ways.  

I experienced his presence…

  • In a prayer moment with my wife yesterday morning.  She had to drop me at the office which gave us time to check in.  As she dropped me at the door we paused to pray.  We were overwhelmed with God’s love.  For a moment all I could do was sit still and receive what God was giving. 
  • Last night as I spent an evening with Mike one of my best friends in the world as we did life on my back deck.  We did a little church if church where two or more come together and our Father was in the midst of us. 
  • This morning when I had a cup of coffee with my future daughter in-law.  That’s right my son is getting married this summer.  Talking with my soon to be  daughter I experienced a moment seeing all that God is doing in their lives by blessing them with each other.  I can’t wait we are going to have a beach wedding.  Our few families members have turned to about 40 friends some who are traveling 6 and 8 hours for the event. It’s good to be loved.  Then we are going to have a big party where we kill the fatted calve, bring out the best wine, and dance to a lot of good music.  I can’t wait.  It is going to be a bit like heaven and I’m sure as the night wears on I will give a toast and once again we will have a moment where we will experience God’s presence and pleasure.  
  • This morning as I got a text from a young man that began with “Papa P!”  He was touching base letting me know that our eight young people had arrived in Spain for their 12 day World Care trip.  He was letting me know they were safe which was really important to me since my daughter is one of the eight.  He also let me know that my daughter needed her international plan for her phone turned on.  I’m not sure I experienced his presence in that moment.  

God is in the ordinary things. God is in the moment. He invites us into his presence. Living in his presence is a wonderful thing!

One response to “Living in His Presence!

  1. I loved that! God has been as is so good to us. I’m so glad he is in the ordinary things too. Why would we not want to serve Him? It is going to be a wonderful celebration June 26th! I love you! *t

Leave a Reply

