Discovering Your Purpose!

For years I thought my purpose was wrapped around both position and place.  Over few years I am coming to understand that Jesus is my purpose.  Here is the beauty of it, when Jesus is my purpose nothing can keep me from living it out.  If place is my purpose, land in the wrong place and I am up the creek without a paddle.  If position is my purpose, the economy goes belly up and I get a demotion or released then I’m out cold.  However, when Mission statement IIJesus is my purpose I can bloom right where I’m at regardless.  If I feel that I’m in the wrong place it doesn’t matter I can live out my purpose right where I am at.  If the position doesn’t work out, so what, I can still live out my purpose (Jesus).  If I grow older and I’m not as valued by others as much as I once was I can still live out my purpose when my purpose is Jesus.  Even if my health fails and I lay dying on my death bed I can still be filled with purpose when my purpose is Jesus and not a place or position.

In the last couple of years I’ve re-written my personal mission or purpose statement with this in mind.  My mission is to rediscover the simplicity and centrality of Jesus and his ways.  That’s it!  I mean it doesn’t end there.  Any thing we have is to be shared with others, that’s the Jesus way.   Therefore, I also exist to help others rediscover the simplicity of Jesus and his ways and even for some, help them discover Jesus for the first time.  Do you catch my drift?  Jesus is my purpose.  In high times and in low times Jesus is my purpose.  In good times and in bad times Jesus is my purpose.  I don’t get it right every day.  Actually I blow it often.  I’m the chief of sinners, but my purpose is still to rediscover the simplicity and centrality of Jesus and his ways.

What’s your purpose?  What do you think?  I would love to hear.  Meanwhile I’m off to rediscover Jesus and his ways.  To this I give myself no matter what my circumstance.

For years I thought my purpose was wrapped around both position and place.  Over few years I am coming to understand that Jesus is my purpose.  Here is the beauty of it, when Jesus is my purpose nothing can keep me from living it out.  If place is my purpose, land in the wrong place and I am up the creek without a paddle.  If position is my purpose, the economy goes belly up and I get a demotion or released then I’m out cold.  However, whenMission statement Jesus is my purpose I can bloom right where I’m at regardless.  If I feel that I’m in the wrong place it doesn’t matter I can live out my purpose right where I am at.  If the position doesn’t work out, so what, I can still live out my purpose (Jesus).  If I grow older and I’m not as valued by others as much as I once was I can still live out my purpose when my purpose is Jesus.  Even if my health fails and I lay dying on my death bed I can still be filled with purpose when my purpose is Jesus and not a place or position.

In the last couple of years I’ve re-written my personal mission or purpose statement with this in mind.  My mission is to rediscover the simplicity and centrality of Jesus and his ways.  That’s it!  I mean it doesn’t end there.  Any thing we have is to be shared with others, that’s the Jesus way.   Therefore, I also exist to help others rediscover the simplicity of Jesus and his ways and even for some, help them discover Jesus for the first time.  Do you catch my drift?  Jesus is my purpose.  In high times and in low times Jesus is my purpose.  In good times and in bad times Jesus is my purpose.  I don’t get it right every day.  Actually I blow it often.  I’m the chief of sinners, but my purpose is still to rediscover the simplicity and centrality of Jesus and his ways.

What’s your purpose?  What do you think?  I would love to hear.  Meanwhile I’m off to rediscover Jesus and his ways.  To this I give myself no matter what my circumstance.

Leave a Reply

