My New Ministry Adventure

It’s so easy to settle and settle-in!  Yet God invites us to follow.  That’s right, let go and join him on the adventure of our lives. That’s what I’ve done and now that my butt is hanging out there you might wonder what I’m going to do.  I’m glad you asked! I

Here’s my new JOB DESCRIPTION:

My Overall Purpose Rediscover and help others rediscover the simplicity and centrality of Jesus and his ways.

Write a new book on FOLLOWING. I won’t go into the details here, but let’s face it, we have become more about leading than we have following.  Jesus is our leader and we are his followers.  What does it really mean to let him so radically take over our lives that we see our role in our relationship with him is to follow?

Provide leadership for churchplanters.com. When I joined the Mountain Lake Team six years ago I owned a little url; http://www.churchplanters.com.  I actually bought it from Ed Stetzer.  Thanks Ed!  Since then Shawn Lovejoy and I have c0-founded a ministry by the same name.  At churchplanters.com our mission is to give church planters permission to do what it takes to reach people far from God. We do this every year by hosting one of the largest church planting conferences in North America, leading a number of coaching networks throughout the year, leading one day events for planters and their teams, and providing a number of resources designed to equip church planters.  The majority of our training is focused on church planters who have already launched their churches and are needing help.  For the next year I am going to spend about 50% of my time giving churchplanters.com some love and leadership.  We want to be a good steward of what God has given us and both of us have a passion for church planting.

Consult with 4 to 5 Fast Growing Churches. I joined Mountain Lake’s Ministry Team  6 six years ago and nearly 1800 people ago.  It’s been a crazy ride.  God has done some amazing stuff.  At the time Mountain Lake was a few years old and had a very young staff.  I felt called to this group of young pastors.  I have given a lot, but I have gained more.  Now its time to do it again.  While I won’t be joining another Ministry Team, I will be consulting with a very few selected churches. Its time to multiply and I believe I can by spending approximately 6 months in a relationship with these young and fast growing churches, helping them chart their course to the next level of missional impact.  It’s what I do!  I am a catalyst and I catalyze stuff.

Speak on losing our religion and rediscovering the simplicity of Jesus and his ways. I’m a bit of a prophet and a reformist.  I books are about repenting, re-thinking, returning, relearning, responding, re-looking, etc.  You get the picture.  Over the next year I’m going to continue to speak at certain conferences and hopefully speak more in churches across the country.  I really do believe that God is calling his Church back to him and I want to be a voice crying in the wilderness or in at least a few churches.

Give some of my time and resources to a few global causes I am passionate about. I will continue to have a relationship with Mountain Lake through our World Care Ministry.  I’m co-leading a tour in September with Ed Stetzer, and Larry McCrary (Upstream Collective) to Turkey to expose pastors to needs in that region and on into the Middle East.  I will continue to explore ways of getting more and more Bibles into Iran and wells in Africa.  I will be going to Haiti in a few weeks and who knows what God is going to do in my heart.

First and foremost I’m going to focus on following.


Leave a Reply

