Who’s Story Is It?

“Come follow me” is Jesus’ invitation to us for entering into God’s story.  Jesus is the door.  Jesus is the way.  Jesus is the one that invites us in and shows us the way into God’s story.

However, we have gotten something radical wrong.  We keep inviting God into our story.

“God I’m building my business, come over here and bless us.”

“God I’m doing a great work in my church, come and bless this great work.”

“God I’m making a difference come over here and bless this great difference.”

We push through.  We work hard.  We get results.  We are tired.  The burden is heavy.  We are so tired.

Why?

We cry out early in the morning.  We are doing a great work.

Yet we are inviting God into our story.  We are doing our thing.  We are poor equipped to do anything else.  It’s the only thing we know.

What do we do?  Listen!  “Repent for the kingdom of heaven is at hand…Come follow me and I will make you to become fishers of men.”

Follow Jesus into God’s story.  God has a story for us.  It is God’s story.  Embrace God’s story.

PRAYER:  Father, Show me your way and give me the courage to follow Jesus into your story.

Leave a Reply

